Go For Broke Association



The Shoulder Patch symbolizes the crusading spirit of the men who chose the design depicting the flaming torch of liberty held high.  This signifies their willingness to take up arms for the defense of all people regardless of race or color.


The Crest comprises the shield and the motto "Go For Broke" which means "Give your all or give everything you've got". The taro leaf which comes from the coat of arms of the 100th Infantry Battalion (Separate) identifies Hawai'i.  The Steamboat symbolizes the place of activation of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team - Camp Shelby, Mississippi.





Battalion Commanders and Command Sergeant Majors from 1947 to Current

YEARS                           RANK                            NAME

1947-1951                        COL                            HARRY ALBRIGHT

1952-1953                        LTC                            LLOYD CONKLIN KAAPANA

1954                                  LTC                            ROBERT ANTONIO ARCIERO

1955-1958                        COL                           LLOYD CONKLIN KAAPANA

1958-1959                        LTC                            ARTHUR J. PANCOOK

                                           LTC                            RICHARD ELLIS

1959-1960                        COL                           WALTER MOOKINI

1961-1963                        COL                           HENRY C. OYASTO
                                           CSM                           WILFRED MARUYAMA                   

1963-1967                        LTC                            ROY T. NAKAMURA
                                           CSM                           WILFRED MARUYAMA 

1967-1969                        MAJ                           BERT SHIRO TOKAIRIN
                                           CSM                           WILFRED MARUYAMA 

1969-1970                        MAJ                           ORLANDO K. WATANABE
                                           CSM                           WILFRED MARUYAMA 

1970-1971                        LTC                            MOSS M. IKEDA
                                           CSM                           WILFRED MARUYAMA

1971-1973                        MAJ                            DONALD J. MACK
                                           SGM                           GEORGE MONTGOMERY

1973-1975                        LTC                            FREDERICK A. HOLCK
                                           CSM                           LORIN KUSHIYAMA

1975-1978                        COL                           ORLANDO K. WATANABE
                                           SGM                           ALLEN SMITH

1978-1980                        LTC                            PAUL R. LISTER
                                           SGM                           ALLEN SMITH

1980-1981                        MAJ                           GALEN M. NARIMATSU
                                           CSM                           THOMAS MIYASHIRO

1981-1983                        LTC                            WALTER M. OZAWA
                                           CSM                           THOMAS MIYASHIRO

1983-1985                        LTC                            GILBERT T. SAIKI
                                           CSM                           BRIAN M. YAMANAKA SR.

1985-1986                        MAJ                           LORIN ZIMMERMAN
                                           CSM                           BRIAN M. YAMANAKA SR.

1986-1989                        LTC                            RAYMOND E. GANDY JR.
                                           CSM                           ARTHUR DELOS SANTOS

1989-1991                        LTC                            ROBERT G. F. LEE
                                           CSM                           ARTHUR DELOS SANTOS

1991-1993                        LTC                            MICHAEL P. WONG
                                           CSM                           ROY SUGIYAMA

1993-1996                        LTC                            MATTHEW A. HORN
                                           CSM                           STEPHEN E. BROWN JR.

1996-1999                        LTC                            MCKINLEY COLLINS JR.
                                           CSM                           JOVEN B. MIRANDA

1999-2002                        LTC                            JON LEE JR.
                                           CSM                           JOVEN B. MIRANDA

                                           CSM                           RICHARD SYLVA

2002-2004                        LTC                            JOSEPH M. KRAKOWIAK

                                           CSM                           RICHARD SYLVA

2004-2005                        LTC                            ALAN OSTERMILLER
                                           CSM                           RICHARD SYLVA

2005                                  MAJ                            PAUL GAULT
                                           SGM                           HAROLD PAUL ESTABROOKS

2005-2007                        LTC                            COLBERT K.H. LOW
                                           SGM                           HAROLD PAUL ESTABROOKS

2007-2010                        LTC                            MICHAEL PEETERS
                                           CSM                           GLEN GOMES

2010-2012                        LTC                            KIMO DUNN
                                           CSM                           GLEN GOMES

                                           CSM                           BEAU TATSUMURA

2012-2013                        LTC                            KEITH HORIKAWA
                                           CSM                           BEAU TATSUMURA

2013-2015                        LTC                            DANIEL AUSTIN
                                           CSM                           BEAU TATSUMURA

2015-2017                        LTC                            KENNETH JR. TAFAO
                                           CSM                           MICHAEL PERRY

                                           SGM                           JOSHUA MASON

2017-?                              LTC                            MATTHEW MCCLOUD
                                           SGM                           JOSHUA MASON